Tuesday, April 27, 2010

Winter Wonderland Real Life Wedding


Kristy-Lee & Mitchell Crawford • 21st June, 2008 • Winter wonderland • Thredbo

Kristy-Lee and Mitchell chose a winter wedding in Thredbo - the same place that Mitchell proposed. Intrigue Photography captured the bride and groom celebrating in their Winter Wonderland. Kristy-Lee shares her wedding story with us...



On the wedding morning, I was delighted when my flowers arrived: beautiful, crisp, white tulips and a buttonhole for Mitch. I wore thermal leggings and boots beneath my gown of ice-pink silk and lace, and had a thick white delustred satin cloak with fur-lined hood to wear outside. A platinum ring that had belonged to Mitch’s late grandmother and a 9 carat gold kewpie doll handed down from my grandmother were both sewn onto my garter. Mitch wore a black suit and ice-pink shirt, with cufflinks worn in memory of his late uncle.


Our ceremony was emotional, and nothing will equal the joy of sharing our wedding vows with our closest family, including my two children. After the ceremony, we rode the chairlift to the top of Mount Kosciuszko for photographs. We will always remember the quiet time that we spent together in that gorgeous, rugged Alpine setting, enjoying the serenity at the top of the world.
Lunch was a delightful combination of seared calamari, quail salad and Wagyu beef, followed by individual white mud cakes with berry coulis and cream. We dined in a glass-walled room with magical views of falling snow.


I made our bomboniere: little pink boxes filled with almonds, wrapped in organza and tied off with a silver snowflake. We carried this theme on in our gifts to our guests, which were silver snowflake wine-stoppers.
There was many a glass of good cheer and much hearty laughter. It was exactly what we wanted - great food, great wine and great company.
And to top it off, a romantic honeymoon in sunny Paris, the city of love.

Read more about Kristy-Lee and Mitchell's special day.

Wedding Suppliers
Photography Intrigue Photography www.intriguephotography.com.au
Ceremony Venue Thredbo Chapel www.thredboweddings.com
Celebrant Pastor Matthew McBurney
Reception Venue The Denman Thredbo www.thedenman.com.au
Bridal Gown Maggie Sottero www.maggiesottero.com
Groom’s Suit Spurling Formal Hire – Cooma Menswear 02 6452 2144
Wedding Rings Showcase Jewellers www.showcasejewellers.com.au
Bridal Accessories Georgini www.georginicollections.com.au
Make-up Napoleon Perdis www.napoleonperdis.com
Florist The Shire Florist, Jindabyne 0428 561 868
Cake Home made by Lisa Cottrell
Bomboniere Handmade ourselves
Entertainment Our iPod preloaded with music www.apple.com
Planning Services Thredbo Weddings www.thredboweddings.com
Honeymoon Paris, France
Related Posts with Thumbnails